top of page
Search
  • saranneormsby

Heart in the Highlands



Go ahead and push this one to the top of your to-read list. It’s been awhile since I’ve felt such an emotional reaction to a story, and this one pulled me right in from the beginning. This story is so beautiful. Each character is written in a way that brings them to life- they don’t just feel like someone on a page- they feel like people you’ve met before because they are so relatable and realistic. They are flawed but with so many redeeming and endearing qualities. I felt all the emotions with each character- the highs and the lows.

Callum and Kate are thrown into an unavoidable and uncomfortable situation. I felt my heart break and mend with each of them as I uncovered more of their stories. I was so inspired by the way themes of forgiveness played into the plot- forgiveness is a key element in every relationship, and these characters navigate it beautifully. It was summed up nicely in two of my favorite quotes from the book: "I don't know how to forgive you. How to forget what you did to me. Or if it is even possible. There was silence for one heartbeat, then two. 'But I would like to try.'"


The writing is beautiful and evokes vivid details and emotions- you truly feel like you are part of the story. I loved the setting in Scotland and how it contributed to the story. There is so much depth to the story and characters, setting this book apart from so many in this genre. It’s the type of book that has you considering your own life and relationships. One of my favorite quotes that got me thinking about my own relationships, romantic and otherwise: "I've come to accept that if I waited to love someone until they were perfect, I'd never love anyone at all." I love finding gems like this to remember in my own life. I’ll be thinking about this story for a long time. It's one of my favorites this year! Click the banner at the top of the post to enter a giveaway for your own copy! In the mean time, here are the links to purchase:


Amazon kindle: amzn.to/3BcCTZX

Paperback from Seagull: bit.ly/3wLfOtV



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page