top of page
Search
  • saranneormsby

Forget Me Not


The first installment in Sarah Eden’s newest series is phenomenal! If you love the Jonquil family books, you will adore this one. If you haven’t read any of the Jonquil family books, this would be a fun way to start!


In this story, we discover the story of the Jonquil parents- Julia (Mater) and Lucas. Having heard so much of Lucas through his sons’ books, I was eager to meet him! Lucas lived up to his reputation in ways that were both expected and surprising! Previously, we'd only seen Mater and Lucas through the lens of their children, as parents. I loved seeing them as young people, not quite as grown or mature as they are in the eyes of their children. I think the character that surprised me the most was Julia. Life has not been easy for her by the time we meet her in the Jonquil brothers books, and it shows. There was so much about Lucas and Julia that we didn't yet know, and it was thrilling to discover each new detail!


Naturally, this is set during a different time period- The Georgian Era, 1785. I loved reading about the fashions of the day- powdered hair and panniers. I adored meeting Lucas’s friends, who call themselves The Gents. We will discover more about The Gents throughout the series. Each of them were so endearing, I can’t wait to know them more!


My favorite thing about the book was seeing the Jonquil boys reflected in their parents. I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but throughout the story I kept thinking, “That’s such a Phillip thing to do…” or “Aw! Just like Charlie!” There were so many little hidden references to their children, (and to other characters featured in her Regency romances) and reading this story felt like coming home.


Lucas and Julia’s relationship did not start the way I expected, and it was simultaneously fun and maddening to see how they found their way to each other. Sometimes I wanted to knock some sense into both of them, but their feelings and reactions were completely relatable. Everyone has had moments of miscommunication. Everyone has insecurities and reasons for them. It was so interesting to learn about theirs, where they came from, and how they overcame them. Their relationship is so lovely, and left me feeling inspired to tell my loved ones how much they mean to me.


I loved this book so much that I’m already craving a reread! I HIGHLY recommend! It was a beautiful, clean romance. Thank you to the publisher and author for the chance to be a part of review team for this book. All opinions expressed are my own.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page